College of Chemistry of ULisboa (CQUL)

Colégio de Química da ULisboa (CQUL)

College of Chemistry of ULisboa (CQUL)

The College of Chemistry of ULisboa (CQUL) brings together professors and researchers from the various Schools of the Universidade de Lisboa (ULisboa) with activity in Chemistry, contributing to the cohesion and better use of the University's human and material resources within the scope of teaching and research.

The College will aim at combining the multiple competences in the area of ​​Chemistry at ULisboa, creating new inter-School dynamics which will lead to the multiplication of joint and innovative initiatives in doctoral programs, research projects, technological development, etc., possibly contributing towards the competitiveness in an area with a long tradition at this University and of recognized international merit. It is hoped, therefore, to consolidate ULisboa's reference position in the field of Chemistry at the national level and also to expand its role in international consortia.

The proposal to found the College was elaborated by a committee that integrated professors from the Faculties of Sciences (FC), Pharmacy (FF), Medicine (FM) and Human Kinetics (FMH), the School of Agriculture (ISA) and Técnico Lisboa.


The College of Chemistry aims at promoting the following goals:

| Cohesion at ULisboa and better use of its human and material resources;
| Collaboration among ULisboa Schools in teaching and research;
| Collaboration between ULisboa Schools and external institutions, particularly with regard to higher and secondary education and the business sector;
| Chemistry in all its scientific and technological aspects;
| The interdisciplinarity of the various fields of Chemistry;
| The transdisciplinarity of Chemistry with other sciences in which it plays a key role, such as materials, biological, pharmaceutical, medicinal, agronomic and forestry and environmental sciences.


At the time of its foundation, the CQUL comprises the Divisions of:

| Energy & Environment;
| Life & Health;
| Materials;
| Technology & Industry.

Coordinating Council

Elected for the three-year term of 2017-2019 and composed by:


– Armando Pombeiro (IST);

Divisions’ Presidents

– Francisco Lemos (IST) [Energy & Environment];

– Mário Berberan-Santos (IST) [Materials];

– Carlos Castro (FC) [Technology & Industry];

– Helena Pereira (ISA) [Life & Health];


– Maria José Calhorda (FC) [for Research];

– Maria Matilde Marques (IST) [for Pedagogical Affairs];

– António Almeida (FF) [for External Relations];

– Mª Fátima Guedes da Silva (IST) [for Communication & Image].

Divisions’ Coordinators

Energy & Environment: Francisco Lemos (IST), Jorge Correia (FC) e J. Gaspar Martinho (IST);

Materials: Mário Berberan-Santos (IST), Manuel Minas da Piedade (FC) e Ana Salomé Veiga (FM);

Technology & Industry: Carlos Castro (FC), Carlos Afonso (FF) e João Bordado (IST);

Life & Health: Helena Pereira (ISA), Rui Moreira (FF) e Filomena Carvalho Arêde (FM).

Executive Committees

For Research: Maria José Calhorda (FC), Manuel Almeida (CTN-IST), Pedro Góis (FF), Isabel Miranda (ISA) e Sónia Gonçalves Abreu (FM);

For Pedagogical Affairs: Maria Matilde Marques (IST), Maria Henriques Ribeiro (FF) e Amélia Pilar Rauter (FC);

Para External Relations: António Almeida (FF), Maria José Lourenço (FC), Carlos Henriques (IST) e Maria Amélia Lemos (IST);

For Communication & Image: Mª Fátima Guedes da Silva (IST), Judite Costa (FF) e Fernando Antunes (FC).

College Assembly Bureau

Nuno Santos (FM) (President), Cristina Bento (FMH) (Secretary) and Maria da Graça Soveral (FF) (Deputy Secretary)

Professors and researchers from any of the ULisboa Schools joining CQUL may become effective members.

Associated members of CQUL can be retired professors from ULisboa, doctorate researchers or scholarship holders from a non-member ULisboa School research unit, as well as doctorate researchers holding scholarships given by Schools and their I&TD interface units, or other sponsors, that join CQUL.


If you are interested, you can join the College of Chemistry of ULisboa by filling-in the following form (each member can register for two Divisions and, for the effective members, the first choice will represent the one where they can exercise their voting rights):


You can contact us through CQUL’s Science & Technology Manager, Nuno Conceição, by using the following e-mail address: .

Available soon.